#### **RESOLUTION NO. 2020-<u>198</u>**

#### A RESOLUTION OF THE SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS REPEALING 14 RESOLUTIONS CREATING 14 EXISTING COMMUNITY PLANS AND RECOGNIZING 35 NEW COMMUNITY ACTION GUIDES

On Tuesday October 27, 2020, on motion of Supervisor Rutherford, duly seconded by Supervisor Lovingood and carried, the following resolution is adopted by the Board of Supervisors of San Bernardino County, State of California.

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors (Board) approved Resolutions establishing 14 Community Plans for: Bear Valley (Resolution No. 2007-044), Bloomington (Resolution No. 2007-045), Crest Forest (Resolution No. 2007-046), Hilltop (Resolution No. 2007-047), Homestead Valley (Resolution No. 2007-048), Joshua Tree (Resolution No. 2007-049), Lake Arrowhead (Resolution No. 2007-050), Lucerne Valley (Resolution No. 2007-051), Lytle Creek (Resolution No. 2007-052), Morongo Valley (Resolution No. 2007-053), Muscoy (Resolution No. 2007-054), Oak Glen (Resolution No. 2007-055), Oak Hills (Resolution No. 2013-123), and Phelan/Pinon Hills (Resolution No. 2007-056); and

WHEREAS, in 2015 the Board approved contracts with PlaceWorks for the preparation of the Countywide Plan, a comprehensive update to the County's General Plan and Michael Baker International for the Community Plans Continuum, a new system of community planning that articulates what is important to each community; and

WHEREAS, the Countywide Plan updates and consolidates all goals and policies of the 2007 General Plan and Community Plans into one County Policy Plan to eliminate redundancy, resolve consistency issues, and expand the application of key goals and policies to multiple communities and regions; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of community planning is to guide the future use, character and independent identity of the many communities within the unincorporated County jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, the County desires to expand the benefits of community planning from the 14 Community Plans representing 37 communities to 35 Community Action Guides representing 76 communities in the Valley, Mountain and Desert regions of the County; and

WHEREAS, the Community Action Guides provide action-oriented direction for each community to remain and become the type of community that current and future residents desire. The Community Action Guides include Action Plans that place a focus on community self-reliance, grass-roots actions and implementation, allowing the community to take the lead in moving actions forward; and

WHEREAS, the County has limited resources to address all the desired programs and services desired by residents in the various communities within the unincorporated County area. The Community Action Guides are based on the principle that the residents of those communities with a Community Action Guide will provide the community capacity behind implementing and/or directing their action plans. The Community Action Guides provide reference materials and a toolkit to assist the residents in implementing various programs and collaborating with outside organizations and agencies to achieve their goals; and

WHEREAS, the Community Action Guides frame the potential actions in a set of communitydriven values and aspirations that were generated through three years and 72 public workshops, online surveys and involving 1,600 residents in 76 unincorporated communities; and WHEREAS, the Community Action Guides will be used by community members to make changes in their community, by applicants to ensure proposed projects reinforce the physical and historic character and identify of the community and by staff during review of development proposals where the values and aspirations sections will be considered as they reflect the community identity.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Supervisors hereby declares the following:

**SECTION 1.** The Board of Supervisors repeals Resolutions Nos. 2007-044 through 2007-056, and 2013-123, rescinding the 14 Community Plans for the communities of Bear Valley, Bloomington, Crest Forest, Hilltop, Homestead Valley, Joshua Tree, Lake Arrowhead, Lucerne Valley, Lytle Creek, Morongo Valley, Muscoy, Oak Glen, Oak Hills, and Phelan/Pinon Hills.

**SECTION 2.** The Board of Supervisors recognizes the independent creation of the 35 Community Action Guides for the 76 unincorporated communities identified and included for reference in Attachment "A" to this Resolution.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Bernardino, State of California, by the following vote:

AYES:	SUPERVISORS:	Robert A. Lovingood, Janice Rutherford, Curt Hagman, Josie Gonzales
NOES:	SUPERVISORS:	Dawn Rowe
ABSENT:	SUPERVISORS:	None

\* \* \* \* \*

STATE OF CALIFORNIA ) SS. ) COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO

I, LYNNA MONELL, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Bernardino, State of California, hereby certify the foregoing to be a full, true and correct copy of the record of the action taken by the Board of Supervisors, by vote of the members present, as the same appears in the Official Minutes of said Board at its meeting of October 27, 2020. #100 jrh

> LYNNA MONELL Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

By \_\_\_\_\_ Deputy

Approved as to Legal Form:

MICHELLE D. BLAKEMORE County Counsel

By:\_

BART BRIZZEE Principal Assistant County Counsel

Date: \_\_\_\_\_

### ATTACHMENT A RECOGNITION OF 35 NEW COMMUNITY ACTION GUIDES

The following 35 Community Action Guides (CAGs) were prepared consistent with the Countywide Vision, with direct community member input and recognized by the Board of Supervisors for use by communities to enhance development, recreational, educational and other identified needs in their communities:

# Valley Community Action Guides (communities included)

- Bloomington
- Devore Communities (Devore, Devore Heights)
- Mentone
- Muscoy
- San Antonio Heights

## Mountain Community Action Guides (communities included):

- Angelus Oaks
- Bear Valley Communities (Baldwin Lake, Big Bear City, Erwin Lake, Fawnskin/ Northshore, Lake Williams, Moonridge, Sugarloaf)
- Crest Forest Communities (Cedarpines Park, Crestline, Lake Gregory, Valley of Enchantment)
- Hilltop Communities (Arrowbear, Green Valley Lake, Running Springs)
- Lake Arrowhead Communities (Agua Fria, Blue Jay, Cedar Glen, Crest Park, Deer Lodge Park, Lake Arrowhead, Rimforest, Skyforest, Twin Peaks)
- Lytle Creek
- Mt Baldy
- Mountain Communities (Forest Falls, Mountain Home Village)
- Oak Glen
- Wrightwood

# Desert Community Action Guides (communities included)

- Baker
- Daggett
- East Desert Communities (Nipton, Rice, Vidal, Vidal Junction),
- El Mirage
- Helendale
- High Desert Communities (Mountain View Acres, Spring Valley Lake)
- Homestead Valley Communities (Flamingo Heights, Johnson Valley, Landers, Yucca Mesa)
- Joshua Tree
- Lucerne Valley
- Morongo Valley
- Newberry Springs
- North Desert Communities (*Barstow Heights, Hinkley, Hodge, Kramer Junction, Lenwood, Red Mountain*)
- Oak Hills
- Oro Grande
- Phelan/Pinon Hills
- Pioneertown Communities (Gamma Gulch, Pioneertown, Pipes Canyon, Rimrock)
- Route 66 Communities (Amboy, Cadiz, Goffs, Ludlow, Siberia)
- Trona
- Wonder Valley
- Yermo

[INSERT COMMUNITY ACTION GUIDES TEXT]